Tags

, , , , , , ,

Monday evening marked the kick-off event for Washington D.C.’s 15th fashion week. Despite the cramped quarters at the Perkins + Will showroom and difficult to locate location, it was a wonderful affair which included complimentary wine and sparkling cider, lovely!

Sidenote: I apologize in advance for the photo quality…all of which taken from my crackberry.

Preparing for the guests to arrive

Model getting her makeup done

There was quite the showing in terms of guests and press. We were not planning on having people stand but as it turned out even the standing room needed standing room.

The first line that walked included the finalists for the eco-friendly competition. Personally, I was dreading this part of the evening due to the fact that I could not fathom how that dreadful blue wrap could slightly resemble something attractive but as usual, I was pleasantly surprised.

Here are some pics I snapped of the models getting ready to work the wrap.

Not beautiful, obviously, but interesting…no? I enjoyed that hat.

First of the featured designers was the Kelly Tang collection-my favorite of the three that showed. She had simple silhouettes but interesting cut-outs that were very fresh and wearable. I could imagine plenty of the girls I know going out in her work.

Click, click, click, flash.

Next was The Aidah Collection, I assisted her with preparing her garments before the show and I can honestly say she was really sweet given the stressful circumstances. All of her designs are eco-friendly & carry her signature hand-painted gold flower emblem.

The designer & a model.

Lastly was Elizabeth St. John, this is the only photo I managed to take during her line. She specializes in wedding gowns though personally, I felt they looked like they were in serious need of a steamer.

One of Elizabeth St. John's evening gowns

 

All in all it was a success. But luckily, not the premiere event of the whole week. We still have the Menswear show as well as the International Couture Show at the French Embassy! I’m rather jazzed.

Until then, I will see all my D.C. fashionistas tomorrow evening at Dirty Bar! The event is invite only and the attire is cocktail.

